Chapter 17 – Love, Lies & Consequences: The Fast Life Sequel by Cassandra Carter #WIP

CHAPTER 17

 

It was business as usual for Kyra as she hopped in her new Maserati and headed out for the day. She had gotten used to leaving her boyfriend at the house without telling him where she was going or when he could expect her back, and eventually, Cincere stopped asking. He rarely believed her answers anyway.

Completely engrossed in their affair, Kyra and Justin didn’t care to limit their love-making to late nights at his condo. Their spontaneous hook-ups took place wherever and whenever time would permit. It wasn’t hard to guess who bought Kyra the car she was driving. Right after he gave her the keys, Justin put it on her in the backseat.

Kyra was more than ready act out another one of her freaky fantasies, when all of a sudden she developed a different kind of anxiety. The sinking realization that her phone was missing put Kyra in a panic. She dumped the contents of her purse out on the passenger seat, but the most she came up with was some money, a couple crumpled up credit card receipts, and the basic girlish necessities.

There was only one other place it could be.

“Shit!” Kyra cranked the wheel, causing the car behind her to honk at her. She was less than a mile from the docks when she made the painful decision to turn around and go back home.

What she found when she got there, however, turned out to be much more than what she was looking for.

Kyra sat and watched as two of Cincere’s friend carried their brown suede couch to a rickety pickup truck parked out front. In the short amount of time she was gone, they loaded up the leather recliner, two side tables and the lamps she picked out. They were taking everything.

“What the hell do you think you’re doin’? Put that down!” Kyra got out of the car so fast she neglected to close the door. Both of them looked at her, so she knew they heard her, yet her orders went ignored.

“What the fuck is goin’ on? Where is Cincere?” Too upset to wait for an answer, Kyra sought him out for herself.  

“Damn it, Cincere . . .” Kyra went on to scold him after nearly falling over the tower of cardboard stacked by the door, but as she looked around, her next breath was stolen.

The living room was empty except for the TV which was now sitting on the floor. The handmade rug had been rolled up, exposing every knick in the hardwood underneath. Even the walls were bare.

What was even more shocking was that instead of trying to stop them, Cincere seemed to be helping. Kyra caught him with a box in his hands.

“Don’t you have somewhere you need to be?” Cincere greeted her like he was inconvenienced by her presence. The rest of his friends were smart enough to clear the room without being asked.

“Yeah, I did – I mean I do but that can wait.” Kyra brushed off her plans as though they were unimportant. Just a second ago, she was dying to find her phone and leave, but something in his eyes made her want to stay.

“What the hell is goin’ on? What are you doin’ with all of our stuff?” she asked.

“You mean my stuff?” Cincere raised his brow. “It’s coming with me.”

“Where are you goin’?” Kyra suddenly felt weak. The screeching sound of him sealing another box with tape was maddening.

“It doesn’t matter where I’m going.” Cincere’s tone was as cold as a killer’s, and yet Kyra felt burned by his stare.

“So that’s it? You were just goin’ to leave and not even say anythin?” Kyra squinted in disbelief. The man across the room looked like Cincere. He sounded like Cincere. But this wasn’t the Cincere she knew. 

“What’s the difference? You’re hardly ever here. As soon as we have a fight, as soon as shit gets a little rough, you’re ready to bail out. I might as well leave you before you leave me!” Cincere went from talking to yelling in a matter of seconds.

“Look, I’ve been doin’ the best I can, Cincere. I don’t know what else you want me to do,” she argued.

“I want you to stop lying to me, Kyra! I want you to tell me the truth!”

Silence filled the room.

“But you can’t can you? All that talk in the beginning about telling the truth when you can’t even do it.” Cincere went about gathering the rest of his things at a furious speed.

“So you never said anythin’ about movin’ out! Our lease isn’t up until the end of November! What am I supposed to do?” Kyra followed him to the bedroom where she discovered the bed had been stripped. All that was left was the mattress and the frame.

“Oh, you’ll be fine. I’m sure you and Justin will figure something out.” Cincere didn’t even try to hide his laughter. He cleaned out the four drawers that belonged to him in a matter of minutes.

“Seriously, Cincere, this is not funny!” Kyra’s voice turned mouse-like to the point where she started to squeak. Between her heart and her brain, she didn’t know which was going to explode first. “You can’t just leave me like this!” she cried.

“You know this is the last thing I ever wanted to do, but you’ve left me no choice,” Cincere sighed when he looked at her however, it wasn’t out of anger. It was to express his anguish and exhaustion. He didn’t want to lose her, but her recent actions made him question whether she was ever really ‘his’ to begin with.

“I’m sorry, Kyra. I really wish it could’ve worked out between us. I really do.”

Kyra swallowed hard. She had been dreading this moment for a long time, and although she knew it was coming, the pain associated with their break-up turned out to be a lot worse than she thought it would be.

“But you could’ve been out. You could’ve been said forget it. Why didn’t you? Why didn’t you give up a long time ago?” Sensing that Cincere had the urge to cry made it even harder for her to resist. Kyra closed her eyes at the slightest caress in an effort to savor their last intimate moment as a couple, and probably ever in life.

“Because I fucking love you, Kyra . . . And I thought you loved me.” Cincere went back to stuffing his clothes into a garbage bag as though he were mad at them. Meanwhile, Kyra was left standing there, trying to explain herself.

“I do love you, Cincere, it’s just . . .”

“Not as much as you love him?” Cincere shot her a scornful glare. “Go ahead. Admit it! There’s no use in denying it now!” he exclaimed.

“Look, this hasn’t been easy for me either, alright? It’s not like I walk around here feelin’ good about this shit!”

“You’re the one who made it this way! You didn’t have to do what you did!” Cincere made sure to scream over her, as though it were a contest.

“Cincere, you have to know I never wanted it to end like this. . .”

“I sure can’t tell. Seems to me like you got everything you need,” he mumbled.

“Don’t get me wrong, Cincere, you’re a good guy and everythin’-”

“Then what is it? What’s changed?” He waited with baited breath.

“Me . . .” Kyra could barely part her lips enough to speak.

“Oh, I get it. You would rather be another man’s mistress than be with me?” Cincere sucked his teeth. “I mean, I know I might not be able to buy you $100,000 cars or anything, but you can’t say I wasn’t good to you. At least I was faithful!” he argued. 

“Let’s not make this any harder than it already is, okay, Cincere?” Kyra turned her head so she wouldn’t have to look at him.

“Look, Kyra, all I’m saying is, you deserve better. . . We both do.” Cincere exhaled through his nostrils.

“You’re right.” Kyra cut her eyes in his direction.  

“I know you think you love him, but one day you’ll realize real love isn’t one-sided,” Cincere continued to taunt her. “Why can’t you see he’s just using you? Justin is going to break your heart just like he did the last time. You know it. I know it. And when it happens again, don’t call me,” he said.

“I really am sorry if I hurt you, Cincere, but I can’t change how I feel.” Kyra held the door open for him.

“And neither can I . . .” With his bags in one hand, and his dignity in the other, Cincere left without so much as a hug, a kiss, or a goodbye. 

Seconds after she turned the locks, Kyra slid down the door. She thought she would be happy to be free of him, but she felt as empty as the room she was sitting in. She never felt more alone than she did in that moment.

Kyra was so distraught she almost didn’t hear the buzzing coming from the kitchen. Low and behold, there was her cell phone, dancing across the countertop. Had any other name other than Justin’s popped up on that screen, there was no way she would have answered. 

“Sorry, babe, I got a little caught up. I’m about to leave now.” Kyra cut back on her sniffling.

“Good, I’m glad I caught you before you left,” he panted.

“Why? What’s up? You want me to meet you somewhere else?” Kyra perked up enough to ask a few questions. Hearing his voice jolted her back to life however the tone he used diluted her excitement. 

“I can’t. It’s Eden-”

“Eden?” Kyra practically bit his head off. She didn’t care if Eden was still his fiancée. The girl could be in the hospital as far as Kyra was concerned. That would still be no excuse.

“Yeah, apparently she made plans for us to have dinner with our parents tonight.” Justin seemed to share Kyra’s irritation. He sounded bored already.

“So try to get out of it,” Kyra barked. Justin sighed even harder.

“I can’t. I already tried,” he claimed.

“Then tell her you’re not goin’! It’s not like she can force you!”

“It won’t look right if I don’t go. Everybody is going to be there,” he said.

“You mean everybody except me?” Kyra’s voice cracked, allowing her pain to leak out in the form of a question.

 “Like I said; I’m really sorry to do this to you, but I just found out a few minutes ago myself. . . Why are you so upset?” Justin chuckled to hide his confusion.

Because, Justin, I really need to see you,” Kyra whined. Her heart couldn’t handle another disappointment.

“Maybe we can meet up later tonight?” Needless to say, Justin’s casual suggestion failed to cheer her up. Truthfully, Kyra wasn’t sure she even wanted to see him anymore.

“When are you goin’ to tell her about us? I know you don’t think I’m goin’ to let you keep stringin’ me along like this,” she sassed.

“I’m going to tell her. I just need a little more time. . .” he sighed.

“How much more time do you need, Justin? The wedding is a week away!” Kyra spoke with new urgency now that she was single. She wasn’t about to end up alone, with nothing in the end while him and Eden sailed off into the sunset.

“So it’s not like I want to be with her. I want to be with you,” he whispered.

“Then what’s stopping you?”

“Hold on. I thought I heard someone coming. . .” Justin covered the mouthpiece for a second. “Look, I really gotta go. Can we talk about this later?”

“Whateva Justin it’s really not that complicated. Either you hurry up and make a decision. Or I’ll do it for you.” Kyra got so frustrated she hung up.

Now that they were seeing each other again, she automatically assumed Justin would leave Eden, but Justin kept coming up with excuses for them not to be together. It was like he could talk about it all day, but when it came time to follow through he seemed to be dragging his feet.

And while Justin might have been scared to tell Eden about their affair – Kyra wasn’t. She was tired of sitting around waiting for something to happen. It was time for Kyra to take what she wanted.

It was time to take matters into her own hands.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Chapter 17 – Love, Lies & Consequences: The Fast Life Sequel by Cassandra Carter #WIP

  1. nylla says:

    IT GOT REAL!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. ericka says:

    dang lol I can’t believe this is what they’re going through!!! I had such hope for them

  3. Brittany says:

    Omgggg! Can’t wait for more! Lol I STALK this page faithfully for an update

Leave a Reply

joeseeberblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Angie Richmond

Urban Fantasy & Historical Fiction Writer. Cemetery Enthusiast.

chester maynes

Poetry and Poems

Evelina Galli

USE THINGS. LOVE PEOPLE. DON'T SWITCH.

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Celeste's Books

Welcome To My Web Site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

designambition

Creating Dreams into Reality awareness

Motown Writers Network . . . Michigan Literary Network

link to the literary network in Detroit & source for all things literary in Michigan

Tradition of Excellence

I'm NOT the author of the articles. I'm chronicling the stories you may have missed.

Sunnydaypoetry's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Big Biz Promotions

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Bitch's Blog

Nice Is The New Four Letter Word!

Freelancejoesblog's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Laugh Love Write

Musings of a Reading Writer

The Spiritual Girl's Guide

Guide To Dating, Life, Sex, Shoes...The Important Stuff!

